Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books


Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows | Blog Tour Book Review

September 11, 2017 Blog Tour, Book Review, Giveaway, Young Adult 2

Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows | Blog Tour Book Review

Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows | Blog Tour Book ReviewBefore She Ignites by Jodi Meadows
Series: Fallen Isles Trilogy #1
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on September 12, 2017
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Amazon Amazon UK Barnes & Noble Book Depository Add to Goodreads
Before

Mira Minkoba is the Hopebearer. Since the day she was born, she’s been told she’s special. Important. Perfect. She’s known across the Fallen Isles not just for her beauty, but for the Mira Treaty named after her, a peace agreement which united the seven islands against their enemies on the mainland.

But Mira has never felt as perfect as everyone says. She counts compulsively. She struggles with crippling anxiety. And she’s far too interested in dragons for a girl of her station.

After

Then Mira discovers an explosive secret that challenges everything she and the Treaty stand for. Betrayed by the very people she spent her life serving, Mira is sentenced to the Pit–the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles. There, a cruel guard would do anything to discover the secret she would die to protect.

No longer beholden to those who betrayed her, Mira must learn to survive on her own and unearth the dark truths about the Fallen Isles–and herself–before her very world begins to collapse.

I’m so excited to be a part of this blog tour for Jodi’s newest book, Before She Ignites! I’ve loved Jodi since her debut, Incarnate, which was one of the first ARCs I was sent after I started blogging! When I first read the synopsis for Before She Ignites and saw all the dragon goodness, I knew I was going to love this book as much as I love all of her others. As always, my main points are bolded. :)

1. I really like our heroine, Mira Minkoba. She’s been under the thumb of her parents and the Luminary Council since she was a young girl, but now they have imprisoned her for having her own voice and her own thoughts. The bulk of the story takes place in the Pit, which is the most miserable prison in the land. All of a sudden, she’s fending for herself… cleaning, living on very little food (that’s all rotten and spoiled anyway), aligning with people she can trust, and coping with her crippling anxiety disorder without the comfort of her normal life and her beloved friends. I liked watching her grow stronger and learn how to calm herself down in times of stress. 

2. I liked Mina’s cellblock mates, even though some of them were kind of weird and/or a complete mystery. My favorite was Aaru, who comes from the isle of silence. He communicates by voice very little, and instead has a tapping language that he teaches Min so they can communicate between their cells without being heard. He’s one of the mysterious ones I was talking about before, and I hope we learn more about him in the sequel. He’s loyal, powerful, and very sweet.

3. Mina’s best friend, Ilina, is the best friend everyone wishes they had. She stands beside Mina at all times. Her protector, Hiroto, is also a wonderful ally. I love that Mina has so many strong relationships, and I hope those get more fleshed out in the sequel as well.

4. DRAGONS. Minia has a cute little dragon named LaLa that I picture as a cuddly little kitten, regardless of the sharp scales that could cut you. She’s adorable! But then there’s all the dragon lore, which was super interesting. We get to meet some bigger, fiercer dragons and that was exciting. More dragons, please! My biggest complaint was that there was not enough dragons!

5. Jodi’s writing is still flawless! There were some very beautiful passages about light and stars, especially toward the end, that I want to go back and re-read just because they were so calming and pretty.

6. Give. Me. The. Sequel. What an ending! Super climactic and actiony and intense. I can’t want to see where things go next.

All in all, Jodi Meadows is not going out of style. I loved the small pieces of diversity included. I’ve never come across a character with anxiety in a fantasy novel before, and it really meant a lot to me. I saw pieces of myself in Mina. Definitely pick up this beautiful story as soon as you can! Or maybe wait until the sequel is closer to releasing. Tough choice.


About Jodi Meadows

Jodi Meadows wants to be a ferret when she grows up and she has no self-control when it comes to yarn, ink, or outer space. Still, she manages to write books. She is the author of the INCARNATE Trilogy, the ORPHAN QUEEN Duology, and the FALLEN ISLES Trilogy (HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen), and a coauthor of MY LADY JANE (HarperTeen). Visit her at Website: www.jodimeadows.com

Twitter  Goodreads Website


Take a loot at the amazing book trailer for Before She Ignites, created by the lovely Sarah from The YA Book Traveler! I think she did a beautiful job!


As a thank you for stopping by the blog, we have a giveaway! Jodi Meadows has generously donated 2 finished copies of Before She Ignites for 2 lucky winners!!!

For more chances to win this amazing giveaway, make sure you visit each tour stop, which will be full of interviews, creative posts, reviews and an excerpt!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Stops

Monday 9/4 TheLifeofABookNerdAddict – Guest Post
Monday 9/4 TalesofTheRavenousreader– Creative Post
Tuesday 9/5 BooksAndPrejudice – Review
Wednesday 9/6 EaterofBooks – Interview
Thursday 9/7 ForTheSakeofReading – Review
Friday 9/8 ABackwardsStory– Guest Post
Monday 9/11 Knoxdiver – Guest Post
Monday 9/11ThatArtsyReaderGirl – Review
Tuesday 9/12 TheYABookTraveler -Review
Wednesday 9/13 AThousandWordsAMillionBooks – Interview
Thursday 9/14 BookCrush– Creative Post
Friday 9/15 TheReaderAndTheChef– Review
Monday 9/18 YAandWine – Review
Tuesday 9/19 TakeMeAwayToAGreatRead – Creative Post
Wednesday 9/20 AphonicSarah – Interview
Thursday 9/21 TheKindredReader – Review
Friday 9/22 ReadWriteLove28 – Excerpt
Friday 9/22 LoveIsNotATriangle – Guest Post


The Lifeboat Clique by Kathy Parks | Book Review

February 18, 2016 Book Review, Debut Author Challenge, Young Adult 4 ★★★★

The Lifeboat Clique by Kathy Parks | Book ReviewThe Lifeboat Clique by Kathy Parks
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on March 1, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Survival
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: TBTB Secret Santa
Add to Goodreads
4 Stars
Some people might say that Denver had a death wish. Why else would she have dared to sneak into a Malibu beach party where she’d be surrounded by enemies, namely including her ex-BFF Abigail?

Oh yeah. Croix. Denver never thought in a million years he’d ask her out, but who was she to question this miracle of fate? Well, that wasn’t the only surprise fate had in store.

During the party a tsunami hit the coast of California, wiping out everything in its path. Denver and a handful of others escaped death by holding onto the roof of the house and were swept out to sea. Of course, one of her fellow castaways was none other than Abigail, who could barely stand the sight of her.

Now that she’s floating in the ocean, stuck on a small boat with the most popular kids in school and waiting to be rescued, Denver wonders what might kill her first-dehydration, sunstroke, or the girl she used to think of as a sister?

A hilariously dark and twisted story that sparkles with a remarkably fresh voice, The Lifeboat Clique is Kathy Park’s irreverent yet insightful novel about how to survive in the most unthinkable circumstances.

The Lifeboat Clique has been a highly anticipated novel of mine for quite some time now, and I moved it even higher up on my to-read list after Hannah told me it had the snark of Veronica Mars. I’m a huge Veronica Mars fan, and so I dove into this book as soon as she compared it to VM! I finished it a couple weeks ago, and the more I’ve thought about it, the more I’ve realized how much I liked it. As always, my main points are bolded. :)

1. The Lifeboat Clique took me a little while to get into, but once I did I was pretty invested in the story. I’ve always been a fan of survival stories because they give us a chance to see what a character is really made of. There’s just something about hitting rock bottom emotionally, mentally, and physically. This book got deep fast, and became about so much more than being popular.

2. Hannah was right when she compared this book to Veronica Mars. Denver sounds JUST like Veronica! She has that same snark and dark humor that we all love. Denver is also ostracized by her former best friend, and is picked on a lot. She’s an outcast, but a fighter. I couldn’t put it better than Hannah did in her review when she said “If Veronica Mars was stranded on a lifeboat with a handful of 09ers, this is what would happen.” I totally agree.

3. As I mentioned before, this book gets deep. There’s a lot of soul searching and healing that goes on out there in that lifeboat. There are some heart-wrenching moments, some funny moments, some horrifying moments, and some tender moments. I loved all the different dimensions of the story.

There’s not a lot more I can say without ruining the story, so I’m going to stop right here! Bottom line, I enjoyed this darkly funny and thought-provoking book! If you’re looking for something a little bit different, definitely pick up a copy of The Lifeboat Clique.


Infinite by Jodi Meadows | Book Review

February 12, 2014 Book Review 8 ★★★★★

Infinite by Jodi Meadows | Book ReviewInfinite by Jodi Meadows
Series: Newsoul #3
Also in this series: Incarnate, Asunder
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on January 28, 2014
Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction
Pages: 418
Format: ARC
Source: From Jamie (The Perpetual Page-Turner)
Amazon Add to Goodreads
5 Stars
DESTRUCTION
The Year of Souls begins with an earthquake—an alarming rumble from deep within the earth—and it’s only the first of greater dangers to come. The Range caldera is preparing to erupt. Ana knows that as Soul Night approaches, everything near Heart will be at risk.

FLIGHT
Ana’s exile is frightening, but it may also be fortuitous, especially if she can convince her friends to flee Heart and Range with her. They’ll go north, seeking answers and allies to stop Janan’s ascension. And with any luck, the newsouls will be safe from harm’s reach.

CHOICE
The oldsouls might have forgotten the choice they made to give themselves limitless lifetimes, but Ana knows the true cost of reincarnation. What she doesn’t know is whether she’ll have the chance to finish this one sweet life with Sam, especially if she returns to Heart to stop Janan once and for all.

I love the Newsoul trilogy, and I have been pushing it on everyone I know. If you’re new or newish to this series, I would recommend reading my reviews of Incarnate or Asunder before reading this one! And then go read all the books!

Ok, so OH MY. You guys! I don’t even know how to review this book! It was just so perfect. I was so unbelievably happy to be reunited with Ana, Sam, and the rest of the gang. I missed them all so much. I was elated to get more of Jodi’s beautiful writing. I was so scared to finish, because I just don’t want to say goodbye to all of this! But Jodi did it right. SO right. If it had to end, this is how I wanted it to happen. As always, my main points are bolded. :)

1. I will always love the strong theme of music that is woven throughout this entire trilogy. Music is everywhere, and in everything. Music saves lives, creates romance, and conveys the strongest of feelings. The musical theme, combined with Jodi’s lyrical writing, created the most amazingly perfect symphonic masterpiece. I have always been one to connect strongly and easily with music, so this story really made its way into my heart and soul.

2. I love what humans do when they fight for their lives, and I love the spirit of determination and self-preservation that these characters have. Enemies turn to allies. When push comes to shove, Ana and Sam along with other Newsoul allies head out on a journey to find help in preventing Janan’s ascension. I really loved seeing so much of the world outside of Heart and Range.

3. I really enjoyed getting to know more about the creatures that live outside of Heart. The first two books introduced us to the sylph, dragons, centaurs, and trolls, but we get to learn much more about them in Infinite. The sylph are glorious, and I loved reading about them and their gracefulness. The dragons are intriguing and have interesting personalities. Connections happen between Ana and these creatures, and I loved seeing this happen.

4. Jodi knows how to write her descriptions. I loved reading about this winter wonderland that Ana and Sam trekked through. I loved her descriptions of the true and complete love that Ana and Sam have for each other. The sexual tension had me swooning. The creatures I mentioned before are absolutely majestic and unique. I just drank in every detail I could, in the hopes of making it last forever.

5. There were so many emotions and feelings. I was tied up in knots, my heart broke, I smiled, I swooned, and I sighed. I was so concerned for my characters. I was sad for them when they had their hearts broken. I was scared when they found themselves in dangerous situations. I held my breath when they were on the cusp of losing everything. These people are my friends now. They have a place in my heart, and I felt everything they did.

6. The ending stole my breath, shattered my heart, and somehow ended up leaving me feeling warm and fuzzy as I said goodbye. I feel like I really went through the ringer. Finishing a series is really scary. We have all invested so much time and so many emotions in these characters, and we have all been disappointed before. Authors are really good at breaking hearts, but they can also shoot of fireworks of happiness. That’s what Jodi did for me. She left me so happy, with so many wonderful memories. She also left a little room for us to fill in our own details at the end, which I love. We might be leaving Heart, Ana, Sam, and everyone but they have been given a bright future that will leave you very satisfied.

Wow. I did not do the book justice at all. Know this, my friends. The Newsoul trilogy is a set of books you have GOT to read. Jodi Meadows is my rock star, and I will absolutely read anything she writes. I’m sad to see these books end, but am so excited for what’s in store for us next!


Divergent by Veronica Roth (Book Review)

July 26, 2013 Book Review, Young Adult 14 ★★★★★

Divergent by Veronica Roth (Book Review)Divergent by Veronica Roth
Series: Divergent #1
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on February 28, 2012
Genres: Dystopia
Format: eBook
Source: Bought from Amazon
Amazon Add to Goodreads
5 Stars
In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue--Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is--she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are--and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

I finally did it, guys! Wooo! Well, I really must credit Daisy with this one because she came up with the awesome idea of reading Divergent together. I rarely give myself the time to read books that I have not been sent for review, so it was a lot of fun to get the chance to read it! It was a bit slow-going for me at first, but I ended up really loving it, and can’t wait to get my hands on Insurgent!

1. I was really worried that Divergent would not live up to the hype. I’ve been hearing about this book for almost two years now, so I was pretty scared of it. Honestly, though, it deserves all the recognition it has gotten! And finally we have a book that does not pale in comparison to The Hunger Games

2. I love Veronia’s storytelling, and her way with words. She has written some beautiful passages and thought-provoking one-liners. A huge part of Divergent deals with simulations that mimic reality, placing characters in uncomfortable situations. Not only did I feel transported to these alternate realities, but I felt everything the characters felt. I loved being so submerged in these peoples’ lives, as I got to learn so much about them as a result.

3. I really like Beatrice/Tris. She comes from the selfless faction, where life is easy but dull. It took a lot of courage for her to choose Dauntless, and I really liked following her through her initiation. She grew so much, and learned a lot about what the world is like. She ate her first hamburger! She got to experience new things, feel new emotions, discover her fears and learn to conquer them, develop new desires for her life, and strengthen herself physically, mentally, and emotionally. The girl who wore her shirts buttoned up to the neck, no make-up, and her hair in a bun is getting tattoos, wearing tank tops and eyeliner, sticking up for herself, and fighting like a boss! I was so proud of her.

4. Four. Hello. I love this guy (and he’s front and center because there’s no love triangle!! Yay!!). He’s brave and fearless and mysterious, yet tender and romantic at the same time. And, oh man, parts of his story just killed me! KILLED ME. He says some of the sweetest things:

“I might be in love with you.” He smiles a little. “I’m waiting until I’m sure to tell you, though.”

5. SO many feelings. I love many of these characters, some more than others. And the things they do just KILL me! There’s bullying, hate, fighting, murder, attempted murder, abuse. Yet I love these people, even if I actually love to hate them. And I just want to smack all of them for being such idiots sometimes! With all of this brings the drama and the growth, though, so I know it has to happen. But yeah, I felt everything. And I would be so sad and then so happy! I was all over the place with this one, but it was great!

6. Yes, I did have a hard time in the beginning. I can’t quite put my finger on what it was, but things really picked up for me as I went further along!

Wow, that was a short review. All in all, I loved Divergent! I can’t believe I waited this long, but at the same time I’m glad I did because Insurgent is already out and Allegiant will be out SO soon. So I don’t have to wait long to finish this trilogy at all! I love Tris and Four, I love all the action and emotions, and I am SO excited to see what happens next!


Asunder by Jodi Meadows (Book Review)

January 17, 2013 Book Review, Young Adult 2 ★★★★½

Asunder by Jodi Meadows (Book Review)Asunder by Jodi Meadows
Series: Newsoul #2
Also in this series: Incarnate, Infinite
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on January 29, 2013
Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Romance
Pages: 406
Format: ARC
Source: From Jamie (The Perpetual Page-Turner)
Amazon Add to Goodreads
4.5 Stars
DARKSOULS
Ana has always been the only one. Asunder. Apart. But after Templedark, when many residents of Heart were lost forever, some hold Ana responsible for the darksouls–and the newsouls who may be born in their place.

SHADOWS
Many are afraid of Ana’s presence, a constant reminder of unstoppable changes and the unknown. When sylph begin behaving differently toward her and people turn violent, Ana must learn to stand up not only for herself but for those who cannot stand up for themselves.

LOVE
Ana was told that nosouls can’t love. But newsouls? More than anything, she wants to live and love as an equal among the citizens of Heart, but even when Sam professes his deepest feelings, it seems impossible to overcome a lifetime of rejection.

I love this trilogy. LOVE it. Read my review of the first book, Incarnate, if you’re interested. The writing is gorgeous, the world building is amazing, and the characters make you fall in love with them so much, that closing the book is like losing a friend. It’s like the end of the school year, when you promise to stay in touch with your best friends, but end up not. You feel a little empty and hollow, eager for that reunion when you can see them again, and see how they are doing. Asunder has left me wanting to call up Ana and Sam and see how they are doing. Jodi, once again, failed to disappoint. I’ll try to remain brief, so as not to spoil this for newbies to the trilogy, or for people who are still eagerly awaiting Asunder’s release. I loved Incarnate more than Asunder, but that goes for most trilogies I read. The first book is always my favorite. As always, my main points are bolded. :)

1. We get to learn so much more about Ana, Sam, sylph, Heart, Janan, and reincarnation. We get to learn about Ana’s purpose, and why she is there. We get to learn more about what happened that caused Ana to be there. There’s still mystery left for book 3, but I know so much more of what’s going on here.

2. Love. I love the emphasis on love and feelings in this book. Love, sacrifice, friendship, emotion. It’s all there, and the connection based on those points are all so tender and meaningful.

3. I enjoyed reading about the changes in Ana. She’s really starting to value her life, and the chance she has to change the mindset of all the old souls she comes in contact with. She’s out to make a difference and save herself in this story, rather than just sit around and wonder what her purpose is.

4. We get to see Sam as more of a normal human, rather than Mr. Perfect. And I liked that. He’s flawed, he struggles. His past gets to catch up with him a bit, and he realizes that he might not know all there is to know about the world he lives in. It was nice to see this other side to him, which I love just as much as the one we saw in Incarnate.

5. I really love that all the information we are given makes sense. I mean, I don’t believe in reincarnation… but if I did, I would believe this. And I love that we get to learn so much about sylph. They become much deeper in character. I was not expecting that at all, and loved it.

6. Finally, the imagination behind this entire storyline is a force to be reckoned with. Jodi’s mind is amazing! 

I know this was a super short review, but once again Jodi has left me speechless. Oh, and I didn’t want to give too much away. This book needs to be experienced and savored. Don’t let a reviewer out there spoil it for you!


Incarnate by Jodi Meadows (Book Review)

January 19, 2012 Book Review, Young Adult 9 ★★★★★

Incarnate by Jodi Meadows (Book Review)Incarnate by Jodi Meadows
Series: Newsoul #1
Also in this series: Asunder, Infinite
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on January 31, 2012
Genres: Dystopia, Romance, Science Fiction
Pages: 374
Format: ARC
Source: From the publisher through Netgalley
Amazon Add to Goodreads
5 Stars
NEWSOUL
Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

NOSOUL
Even Ana's own mother thinks she's a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she'll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

HEART
Sam believes Ana's new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana's enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else's life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

Do you ever read a book that leaves you thinking, “Ok, how on Earth am I supposed to go about reviewing that?” Don’t get me wrong. I loved this book. Sometimes, though, I come across a book I love so much, that it leaves me wordless. Haha. This was one of them. I’m not sure exactly what it was that made me love it so much. Perhaps it was the sweeping, yet believable non-insta-love romance, the unique take on a utopian world, or the writing that I totally got. You know how sometimes your brain and an author’s writing style just mesh, and you’re writing in your mind the exact same story you’re reading? Jodi just did everything right. She and I were on the same wavelength, and I totally got her. I’m not saying the book was predictable, because it totally wasn’t. I’m saying that everything she wrote was exactly what I wanted. I got my romance, my mystery, my alternate world, my suspense, my excitement. Let’s see if I can break this down for you in a way that makes sense. Haha. I’m really into putting my thoughts into numbered lists right now, so that’s what I’m going to do. It works for me.

1. I really loved reading about Ana’s journey to Heart. The very beginning of the book just sucked me in, and I was sold. It was suspenseful, and adventurous. It was also a great way to be introduced into this world. We’re introduced to the sylph, which are vicious invisible fire breathers that burn anything in their path. Whoa.

2. And then we meet Sam. I LOVE SAM. He might just be one of my favorite YA male characters. Because he’s been reincarnated so many times, he’s extremely smart, talented, and mature. He’s unbelievably caring and considerate. People in this world hate Ana because in order for her to be born, a person had to die and never be reincarnated again. Her birth was a complete mistake, and people resent her not only because she “stole” a life, but because they are worried that more people like her will be born in the future. Sam’s totally not on board with their train of thought, though. He adores her and helps her figure out that she’s worth so much more than her birth mother has been telling her her whole life. And he’s musical. He made me melt a little.

3. I really enjoyed learning about Heart. The walls have a heartbeat. There’s a mysterious temple with no doors that is so tall, you can’t see the top of it. It’s so huge that almost the entire human race lives there. Plus, it’s been there since the beginning of time. The inhabitants of this place said they just stumbled upon it after being born the first time. They think it was given to them by their God, Janan (which is so close to my name. woot!), to protect them from the dangerous beasts of the world.

4. The Masquerade Ball is flat-out one of the most beautiful scenes in the book. The ball is held for two souls who have pledged their undying love for one another across all their incarnations, even if sometimes one of them happens to be 80 and the other one 5. Or… if they both happen to come back as members of the same gender. It’s their souls that matter, not their bodies or age. So they celebrate this ceremony with a masquerade ball, where nobody knows who anyone is dressed as. The goal is for this couple to find each other anyway. What a beautiful underlying message of eternal love knowing no bounds. It’s a breathtaking thought. And wow, this ball was sexy. I’ll leave it at that!

5. The action and suspense! Dragons, Sylph, people out to kill Ana and Sam… SO exciting! I was flipping pages faster than I could read, and had to press the back button on my Kindle to go back. (Anyone else ever do that? Haha.)

6. Music was a HUGE part of this book. Sam’s an amazing musician, and Ana connects with music on the same level I do. Music has always been one of the main elements of my life. It brings out such strong emotions and feelings in me. I connect with it on so many levels, just like she mentions throughout this story. I identified with her so much for this reason.

7. The lyrical writing was gorgeous, but not over the top or flowery. Like I said, I just got it. I don’t want to give away too many details, because it’s something you’ve got to experience on your own.

8. There were no hidden agendas in this book. There were points where the people seem to be very religious and devoted to their God, but this was not preachy at all. I didn’t feel like anything was being shoved down my throat. There were also a few moments that could almost be identified as anti-religious, but again I didn’t feel like the author was trying to sway me one way or another. Remember in my review of Halo when I said that a good author can write a religion without preaching it? This book, unlike Halo, was a good example of an author who handles it without trying to force someone to have an opinion. I really appreciated that.

9. The idea of reincarnation was handled in a very interesting way. These people live, they die. Then they are reincarnated into a new body (male or female) and come back as a grown human in a baby’s body. They come out smart, and with all the memories of their previous lives. It’s a very cool idea, and opens the door for many interesting and well-rounded characters. I loved it.

10. And… I just have to mention the cover. It’s gorgeous. And unlike some book covers, this cover tells so much about the story itself. I’m not going to elaborate on this because I don’t want to spoil anything, but I might just have to buy a hard copy of this book so I can own the cover. I’m a graphic designer, and I really appreciate art that is done for a better reason that to “just look pretty”. This is one of the best examples I’ve seen of a cover that very subtly opens a window to the story. You’ll understand what I mean once you read it.

All in all, read this book! It’s new, it’s fresh, it’s romantic, and it’s pretty much awesome. I can’t wait for the next one!