My Virtual Reality App Wish List | Unplugged Blog Tour

Posted June 20, 2016 by Jana in Blog Tour, Giveaway / 6 Comments

My Virtual Reality App Wish List | Unplugged Blog Tour

Welcome to my stop along the blog tour for Donna Freitas’s new YA dystopian novel, Unplugged, hosted by The Irish Banana Review! The people in this book live in one of two worlds: the App World and the Real World. Those who live in the App World are wealthy and live in an extravagant world of virtual reality. Those who live in the Real World are a dying, poor people. Skylar is a transplant member of the App World, whose family sent her there from the Real World for a chance at a better life.

In honor of this interesting storyline about people whose every whim is catered to through an app, I’ve written up a list of virtual reality apps I wish were real and that I could download right now! Learn more about the book, the author, and enter to win a copy of Unplugged for yourself below my list!


My Virtual Reality App Wish List

1. The “Make Me Pretty” App
I want an app that does my hair and makeup for my every morning so that I don’t have to. For some reason, I really hate getting ready for the day. If I had this app I’d save time, money, and a whole lot of frustration. Plus, I’d look perfect every day.

2. The “I Need Gelato” App
An app that transports me to Florence, Italy for the best “cookies” gelato I’ve ever had would be PERFECT. I crave that stuff all the time.

3. The “Make Me Read Books Faster” App
There are SO many books I want to read, and I’m worried that I won’t fit them into the years I have left on this planet! An app that made me read faster or that let me experience stories in less time would tame my TBR pile, my review pile, and my “I should probably read this because it makes me look smarter” pile in no time flat.

4. The “I Want to Go Here” App
Similar, to the gelato one… but bigger. I want an app that will transport me to any location in the world! I could be on the beach in Coronado, California one minute and then on a gondola in Venice, Italy the next. Talk about the perfect vacation ever.

5. The “Matchmaker” App
We all know I’m single… An app that sent me on amazing dates with dream men would be worth all the monies. Just take the monies.

6. The “Kittens and Babies” App
I love holding kittens and babies, so an app that would drop one in my arms whenever I wished would be pretty amazing.

7. The “Book Worlds” App
An extension of the “I Want to Go Here” app. There are so many book worlds I would LOVE to visit that don’t exist: Hogwarts, Elysium (The underwater glass city from the Elysium Chronicles by J.A. Souders), Panem (Just to see it!), and more! This app would transport me to those places.

8. The “Out of this World” App
I’ve always wanted to go to space! This app would take me there!

9. The “Meet this Person” App
This app would allow me to meet anyone. Ever. Living or dead, real or fiction… I could spend time with all my book boyfriends, my favorite authors, celebrities, etc. and it would be amazing.

10. The “Christmas Wonderland” App
I’m a HUGE fangirl of Christmas. If Christmas had a fandom I’d be its most active member. I want an app that will send me to a Christmas wonderland whenever I need a dose of happy or some twinkly lights or some snow. I wouldn’t live there because too much of a good thing is no longer special… but I’d visit often!

What virtual reality apps are on your wish list?


Unplugged by Donna Freitas
Series: The Wired #1
Published by HarperTeen on June 21, 2016
Genres: Dystopia, Science Fiction
Pages: 448
Amazon • B&N • Indiebound • iBooks • The Book Depository
Add to Goodreads

The first book in a provocative new series from acclaimed author Donna Freitas—Feed for a new generation.

Humanity is split into the App World and the Real World—an extravagant virtual world for the wealthy and a dying physical world for the poor. Years ago, Skylar Cruz’s family sent her to the App World for a chance at a better life.

Now Skye is a nobody, a virtual sixteen-year-old girl without any glamorous effects or expensive downloads to make her stand out in the App World. Yet none of that matters to Skye. All she wants is a chance to unplug and see her mother and sister again.

But when the borders between worlds suddenly close, Skye loses that chance. Desperate to reach her family, Skye risks everything to get back to the physical world. Once she arrives, however, she discovers a much larger, darker reality than the one she remembers.

In the tradition of M. T. Anderson’s Feed and Scott Westerfeld’sUglies, Unplugged kicks off a thrilling and timely sci-fi series for teens from an award-winning writer.


About Donna:

Donna Freitas is the author of both fiction and nonfiction. Over the years she has written for national newspapers and magazines, including The Wall Street Journal,The New York Times, The Boston Globe, and Newsweek. Donna has been a professor at Boston University in the Department of Religion and also at Hofstra University in their Honors College. She writes children’s novels for Scholastic, Harper Collins, and FSG, and she loves it very much! Donna splits her time between Brooklyn, NY and Barcelona, Spain.

(To read Donna’s full bio, click here.)

Website | Twitter | Facebook


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

6/20: That Artsy Reader Girl – Virtual Reality App Wish List
6/21: One Night Book Stand – Top 10
6/22: Downright Dystopian – Review
6/23: Live to Read – Guest Post
6/24: Pretty Deadly Reviews – Review
6/27: The Irish Banana Review – Q&A
6/28: The Book Bratz – Review
6/29: Brittany’s Book Rambles – Guest Post
6/30: Such A Novel Idea – Playlist
7/1: The Petite Book Blogger – Review
 

Share this post:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

6 responses to “My Virtual Reality App Wish List | Unplugged Blog Tour