The Dragons of the Fallen Isles by Jodi Meadows | Author Guest Post

Posted September 20, 2018 by Jana in Guest Post / 2 Comments

Magic, Myth, & Mischief, hosted by me and Bonnie, is a month-long event that celebrates fairy tales and mythological retellings, as well as retellings of favorite classic novels and books featuring mythical beasts such as mermaids, dragons, and fae! Find the schedule of events and other information here.

I’m so excited to Jodi Meadows, author of the the Fallen Isles trilogy (Before She Ignites and As She Ascends), to the blog today to talk about the magical and wonderful dragons that live in the Fallen Isles! As She Ascends just entered the world on September 11, 2018, and it’s filled with action and excitement and so many dragons!

The Dragons of the Fallen Isles

by Jodi Meadows

For the Fallen Isles series, I wanted to share a world filled with lots of different kinds of dragons, because I — like lots of other kids — had a fascination with dinosaurs. It faded over time, but I remember being completely awed by them, and storing a ton of random facts about them in my head, and as the little kids in my life get to the age where they first learn about dinosaurs, I see it in them too. I wanted to capture that feeling for my main character, Mira, but I wanted it to be about dragons, and I wanted it to be something that never left her, even as she got older.

So when building the Fallen Isles, I thought about what kind of dragons might be interesting to learn about as a reader, and what someone like Mira would know about each of them.

I came up with several different species, but a few of the ones that make it into the story:

Drakontos raptus: A small ferret-sized dragon that can be trained to hunt, like a bird of prey. They come in many different colors, but the two who show up on the page often are gold and silver — LaLa and her wingsister Crystal.

Drakontos ignitus: These are medium-sized dragons that are dull brown as juveniles, but turn fire-colored with age. They can ignite the air around them, as well as breathe fire.

Drakontos mimikus: Dragons that can change the color of their scales and the timbre of their voices as protection.

Drakontos rex: Impressively large dragons, often jewel-tone colors. In the past, warriors rode them into battle, as they had long jets of fire and could destroy cities from far above.

Drakontos titanus: The largest species of dragon, with a roar like thunder and wings that can black out the sun.

There are several other species of dragons in the world, many who pop up throughout the series, and it’s always fun to describe them through Mira’s filter of love and wonder.

Before She Ignites had mostly Mira’s memories of dragons, plus a few real-time interactions with them, but As She Ascends is all dragons all the time. It was a little complicated to figure out how characters would go about their plot with an armful of dragons, but in the end it was worth it. Because dragons.

As She Ascends by Jodi Meadows
Series: Fallen Isles #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on September 11, 2018
Add to Goodreads 
Amazon • B&N • Book Depository 

Mira Minkoba is on the run with her friends after a fiery escape from the Pit, where she’d been imprisoned for defending the dragons she loves. And she wants answers. Where have all the dragons been taken? Why are powerful noorestones being shipped to the mainland? And did the treaty she’s been defending her whole life truly sell out the Fallen Isles to their enemies?

As her connection to the dragons—and their power—grows stronger, so does Mira’s fear that she might lose control and hurt someone she loves. But the only way to find the truth is to go home again, to Damina, to face the people who betrayed her and the parents she’s not sure she can trust.

Home, where she must rise above her fears. Or be consumed.

The second page-turning novel in Jodi Meadows’ Fallen Isles trilogy scorches with mysterious magic and riveting romance as one girl kindles a spark into a flame.

About Jodi Meadows

Jodi Meadows wants to be a ferret when she grows up and she has no self-control when it comes to yarn, ink, or outer space. Still, she manages to write books. She is the author of the INCARNATE Trilogy, the ORPHAN QUEEN Duology, and the FALLEN ISLES Trilogy (HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen), and a coauthor of MY LADY JANE (HarperTeen). Visit her at Website:

Twitter  Goodreads Instagram

Share this post:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Tumblr Reddit Stumbleupon Email

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

2 responses to “The Dragons of the Fallen Isles by Jodi Meadows | Author Guest Post